Daily Prompt: Sink or Swim.

Prompt: Tell us about a time when you were left on your own, to fend for yourself in an overwhelming situation — on the job, at home, at school. What was the outcome?

The day my ex-partner told me that he had signed the lease for a new house for us, across the country from where we lived, I sunk. He had family there, he could transfer with his job. What about me? I had our son to care for. I knew no one, I had no friends I could visit with. I visited his family a few times and just got left in the corner as I had nothing in common with any of them.

Being stuck in a town where I knew no one and outsiders seemed to be frowned upon, jobs were scarce and there was very little to do. My ex worked nights so he slept all day which left me with very little adult interaction. I signed my son up for nursery so he could at least benefit from that and interact with kids his own age. I sunk even more.

Eventually my days were consisting of: get son ready for his nursery, go home, sleep, get up collect son at 2pm, bring him home, feed him, put him down for a nap and sleep some more. Get up, make dinner, chat with ex for a bit, play with my son and watch tv and be asleep again by 10pm. Slowly, I sunk further. Trips to the doctor uncovered slight depression and still I sunk.

Until one day I woke up and decided enough was enough. Dropping my son off to his nursery, I went home and woke his dad up. Told him I needed to get away from where we were, and he completely let me go. I think that started me off swimming back to the surface. He didn’t even fight for me and I realised only I could fight as hard as I could for me.

Nearly 12 years on and I’m still swimming strong. I have a fantastic hubby who swims with me and we catch each other if we start to sink.  I have a smile on my face daily and that keeps me buoyant.

9 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Sink or Swim.

  1. Pingback: Doing The Right Thing Can Leave You Lonely | The Jittery Goat

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Sink or Swim | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: Sink or swim…. | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  4. Pingback: Rob's Surf Report

  5. Pingback: God’s Grace | A mom's blog

  6. Pingback: LEFT OR RIGHT | victor's mind

  7. Pingback: Sink or Swim? So limiting… | It's my blog, innit...

  8. Pingback: EMOTIONAL BONDAGE | hastywords

  9. Pingback: Destroy Build | Edward Hotspur

Leave a Reply

