Blog Tour: ‘Finding Sage’ by Logan Judy

LoganJudy_FindingSage(1)

Finding Sage
The Rogue
Book 1
Logan Judy
Genre: Dystopia, Paranormal
Date of Publication: 3/30/2014
ISBN: 1497543231 13
ISBN: 978-149754323
ASIN: B00JDSJXZ8
Number of pages: 358
Word Count 79,517
Cover Artist: Cheryl Sosebee

Amazon Paperback | Amazon eBook | Amazon eBook UK

Book Description:

In the future, some people, known as rogues, exhibit supernatural abilities. That’s not a good thing, however, because the global government hunts them down and executes them, imprisons them, or forces them to become assassins. Silas is such a rogue. He lives day by day constantly paranoid about his chances of survival. So when a wide-eyed hobo offers him a solution to his problems, a mysterious man who the U.N. seems desperate to find, he follows, not having the slightest clue what he’s just stepped into.

Alice hides a dark secret. Many rogues have come and gone in past years, but if people only knew how dark her so-called gift was, they would reject her. Attack her. Kill her. Where can she turn?

Sage is the one that connects them. The one that offers hope to them both. Little is known about him and precious few have seen him. So why is he the only one that the U.N. is afraid of?

Finding Sage Banner 450 x 169
IMG_20140405_165325

About the Author:

Logan Judy is a fantasy, science fiction, and dystopia author who began writing his first book, a medieval fantasy novel, when he was 12 years old. While he never published that work, it was instrumental in jump-starting his writing career, as he branched out into other stories and worlds, including space opera and dystopia. His first published work, Finding Sage, was completed and released in 2014. Currently living in Indiana with his wife and Don Quixote-esque guard dog, Logan Judy is hard at work completing the tale that Finding Sage began.

Amazon Author Page | Goodreads | Website | Facebook Page | Twitter | Tumblr | Pinterest | Newsletter Sign-up

 

Finding Sage Banner 450 x 169

Guest post from Logan Judy:

 

Why Most People Never Finish Their Book

I’ve been in the writing game for a long time. At least it seems that way. I published my first book about two months ago, but I started writing when I was 12, which means I’ve been writing for about 9 years, yet I just recently published my first book.

No. It didn’t take me 9 years to write one book. It took me 9 years to finish something that I started. Finding Sage was probably the tenth or so book that I’d started, and only the second I ever completed a first draft on. I thought my track record on finishing things was just something that I was especially bad at. I still think I’m especially bad at it, but the more I meet people the more I find that I’m not the only one. It seems anymore like half of America’s readers have an unfinished book sitting on their computer.

I’m not an expert. I’m not some sort of writing guru. I am, however, a reader just like you who happened to finish a book and publish it. And if you’re like I was a couple years ago, you’re probably itching to know how to actually finish that book. So I figure I might as well give you what enabled me to do it. So here are five things that I had to learn in order to finish my book. Yes, I had to learn them. These do not come naturally.

1. Writing is not your hobby; it’s your job. Most successful writers, especially those who are indie authors, didn’t just have a hobby that turned into a full-time thing. They were serious about it. The moment that I started writing seriously and working hard at finishing my book was when I realized that I couldn’t keep treating it as a hobby or a pastime. If you want to get published, or if you want to create a good enough work to warrant self-publishing, that means you have to treat it like a job. That doesn’t mean you’re in it for the money, because none of us should be (if you are, you’re in the wrong field), but it does mean you take it seriously and you invest a lot of time into it. You have to see yourself as a writer who is temporarily working a day job (but work at your day job, because you still need it to pay the bills).

2. You need writing goals. I’m nearly half-way done drafting my second novel. It took me about three weeks to get that far (about 40,000 words). That might sound like a lot, but that was because I had a goal each day. Goals are huge motivators, and you need them if you’re going to go somewhere. They don’t necessarily have to be lofty goals. I was in between jobs when I did that, so I had a lot more time on my hands. I basically wrote and filled out job applications, and you may not have the freedom to do that. You might only be able to write 250 words a day. Maybe you work better with weekly goals, so you set it at 1,000 or 2,000 words per week. Whatever works best for you, do it. Just have some writing goals, or you won’t go anywhere.

3. Write every day. You might have weekly writing goals. That’s fine. But you need to write every day. Productivity soars when you write every day. The brain is like a muscle, and you have to exercise it regularly if you’re going to expect it to perform. This doesn’t mean that you have to do 5,000 words a day or anything like that, but it does mean you have to force yourself to do it some every day, even if for only fifteen minutes. Remember that you’re treating this like a job, not a hobby.

4. Don’t edit until you’ve drafted. The first draft I ever completed was for an epic fantasy novel when I was 14. Because I was only 14 it wasn’t great quality, so I’ve tried since to rewrite the story. Every time before that I’ve tried to do that, I never get very far, primarily because I haven’t been able to stop critiquing myself while I’m writing. That’s why I didn’t finish it. I did finish Finding Sage because I managed to hold back my internal editor until the first draft was done. If you try to edit on the go, you won’t finish. You’ll become discouraged and give up. Keep drafting and edit later. You may find that the book doesn’t suck nearly as much as you thought it did.

5. Butt in chair. This is probably the hardest lesson to learn. There are some days that you have to write when you just don’t feel like it. It sucks. And you’ll be frustrated. But it’s necessary. It’s also worth it, though. I’ve emphasized that you have to treat it like a job, but most jobs are not as rewarding as holding a paperback in your hand with awesome artwork and your name on the front, as well as your picture on the back. And if you are able to become successful and do it for a living, you’ll have the coolest job on planet Earth, if to no one else, to you. That alone makes it worth it.

I hope these five lessons help you in your writing. If you want to know more about me and my work, you can check out my website at www.loganjudy.com and sign up for my newsletter at www.loganjudy.com/newsletter.

 

Finding Sage Banner 450 x 169

Leave a Reply

