Blog Tour & Guest Post: “Ammonite Planets” by Gillian Andrews

new-326_zpsde96922b
“Ammonite Planets”
by Gillian Andrews
Young Adult Sci-Fi

Date Published: July 28, 2014

Purchase Links: Amazon | Amazon UK

Ammonite planets all done simple version extra planet variantThis omnibus edition exclusive to the Kindle bookstore brings you the first three books of the award-winning Ammonite Galaxy series – a thousand pages in one volume!

“Awesome book! I’d give this 6 stars for writing if I could. I stayed up till 5 am last night because I was that enthralled.” Rose – Podiobooks reviewer (about Valhai)

Meet Six and Diva for the first time in this special omnibus edition of the first three books in this series, starting with Valhai, which is a Readers Favorite award-winning book and a Parsec Awards finalist.

“It continues to astound me that this author has come up with something so completely original and interesting.” Cynikat, Podiobooks reviewer.

new-326_zpsde96922b

About the Author:

Gillian Andrews:
I am English, although I live in Spain now. I’ve worked at all sorts of things, but have been writing too, on and off, since I was little. I have always been passionate about cosmology and astrophysics, so it was exciting to be able to bring that aspect into the series. I recently finished a masters in astronomy and astrophysics.

Valhai is the book I always wanted to write, but I got so involved with the characters myself that I simply had to go on writing about them, which turned a one-off novel into a series. I hope readers will identify with them and enjoy them too. I myself have been practically living in The Ammonite Galaxy for the last five years. It has become so real to me that I can almost touch it!

new-326_zpsde96922b

The books out so far in the series are:

Book One: Valhai

Book Two: Kwaide

Book Three: Xiantha

Book Four: Pictoria

Book Five: The Lost Animas

Book Six: The Namura Stone (published September2014)

Book Seven: The Trimorphs (to be published 2015)

Ammonite Planets is the omnibus edition of Books #1-3 and is exclusive to the Kindle store, and Ammonite Stars is the omnibus edition of Books #4-5, also exclusive to the Kindle store.

new-326_zpsde96922b

Gillian Andrews kindly agreed to submit a guest post, and it makes for some good reading 😀

“There is romance in Sci-fi – it just doesn’t happen at once!

My series is currently seven books long and counting, and it is not a romance. That said, The Ammonite Galaxy contains one of the most intense love stories you could wish for. Or, at least, that I could wish for! For me, it has two of the most interesting love stories EVER! But then, I am biased. Though, judging from the comments and feedback I am getting to The Namura Stone (Book Six in the series), some of my readers may feel the same way. I would say more, but can’t, due to phantom spoilers lurking deep in the shadows.

These romances span seven books … that’s right, seven books. Almost 800,000 words – longer than the bible in total word count, which according to Funtrivia.com has 774,746 words. I think you could call those long-term relationships, couldn’t you?

Of course, it takes a couple of books for them to get going, so you may have to be patient. But then, when the series starts, my characters are only 14 years-old – a tad on the young side for a proper romantic involvement. In any case, some of them don’t take kindly to each other at first. Rather the opposite in fact. Some of them spend most of their time sparring verbally and sometimes physically with each other. It takes a few years and a LOT of words before there is even a hint of anything else. Not for the impatient, certainly. However, it turns out that there are precedents for such things …

… When you think about it, science fiction has always had a strong romantic interest; it just likes to take its own time to manifest itself. It is hard to think of any sci-fi tv shows or speculative fiction that have managed to extirpate it completely. Even Doctor Who – immune for years except for a brief skirmish I apparently missed – eventually ends up with River Song as romantic interest. Finally! It was about time he got around to it, wasn’t it? I mean … five DECADES of tv before he finally marries someone. Come on, guys! Can’t you see it was worth it? River Song is one of my favourite characters on the show. I think she added such a lot.

Even Tolkien managed to squeeze some romance into the Lord of the Rings. Where? At the end of the last book, of course. Where else? And, according to recently released letters to his publisher, we were apparently lucky to get even that late romance (where Arwen gives up immortality to live with Aragorn). The poet W H Auden, had criticized it as ‘unnecessary’ and ‘perfunctory’ and Tolkien must have been in two minds whether to include it or not. Finally he kept it in as ‘an allegory of naked hope’. I’m glad he did.

And across where men boldly go, poor old Spock and Uhura had to wait forty-three years (from 1966 to 2009) to get together romantically – and even then that was only in an alternate time line!

There is romance in speculative fiction; it just doesn’t happen right away.”

new-326_zpsde96922b

Gillian’s Websites:

www.gillianandrews.com

www.valhai.com

www.kwaide.com

www.xiantha.com

Google +

Leave a Reply

